Current IMSD Meyerhoff Graduate Fellows (65)

As of 6/18/24

Biological Sciences (UMBC – 2)

Devonique Brissett
Emmanuelle Johnson

Molecular Medicine (UMB – 3)

Kevin Herold
Shanaliz Natta
Garis Grant

Microbiology and Immunology (UMB – 2)

Jernelle Miller
Da’Kuawn Johnson

Neuroscience (6)

Antonio Figueiredo
Daniela Franco
Jewel White
Chimdiya Onwkwe
Lakota Watson
Ruchael McNair

Gerontology (UMBC & UMB – 0)


Electrical Engineering (UMBC – 2)

Isaac Basaldua
Janerra Allen

Epidemiology and Human Genetics (UMB – 1)

Adewumi Adegboye

Chemistry (UMBC – 10)

Chanda Lowrance
Mona Layegh
Kayry Segarra
Leopoldo Posada Escobar
Misti Cartwright
Alexander Paredes
Lahari Saha
Naba Krishna Das
Kushani Mendis
Hasan Al Banna

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (UMBC – 3  & UMB – 7)

Lucia Rodriguez
Karndeep Singh
Saif Yasin
Rex Gonzales
Hardler Servius
Aishwarya Iyer
Amara Ejikemeuwa
Anthony Strong
Emmanuel Asiedu
Derek Osorio

Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering (5)

Joel Tyson
Zach Sheffield
Kelsey Gray
Jada Damond

Physics (UMBC – 1)

Florence Lucey

Psychology (UMBC – 14)

Peter MacIver
Selima Jumarali
Ana Katrina Aquino
Fran Alfonzo
Geoffrey Harrison
Jordan Lankford
Jabarey Wells
Shaline Escarfulleri
Sumaiya DeLane
Sarah Peralta
Clarice Hampton
Danielle Black
Bianka Onwumbiko

Pharmaceutical Science (UMB – 9)

Nicholas Montes
Aziza Frank
Ayanna Williams
Sheneil Black
Nathaniel McClean
Aarion Romany
Khady Ouattara
Brandon Lowe



Check out the G-RISE Meyerhoff Newsletter!

Open the attachment to see all of G-RISE Meyerhoff's events and updates. Thank you, Kayry Segarra (Meyerhoff GSA Board Member/G-RISE Advisory Group Member) for sharing! 

Posted: March 10, 2023, 2:11 PM

Congratulations, Fellows!

G-RISE Meyerhoff has been on fire this semester!

Kudos to the following M's! Janerra Allen (Electrical Engineering, UMBC) and Catherine Ladipo (Pharm, UMB) has been selected as the 2023-24 Genentech Meyerhoff Fellows. Janerra and Catherine...

Posted: March 6, 2023, 5:48 PM

125 Women in STEM Selected as AAAS IF/THEN Ambassadors

UMBC's Dr. Adrienne Starks!

Congratulations to former IMSD Meyerhoff Fellow Dr. Adrienne Starks (Biological Sciences) on being selected as one of the AAAS IF/THEN 125 women to serve as Ambassadors for girls in STEM...

Posted: September 30, 2019, 4:48 PM

Aspires To Be The 1st African American Woman To Walk on Mars

First Year IMSD Meyerhoff Graduate Anicca Harriot

Anicca Harriot is a 1st year Biochemistry doctoral student in the Graduate Program in Life Sciences (GPILS)  at the University of Maryland, School of Medicine.  The Biochemistry and Molecular...

Posted: February 8, 2018, 4:07 PM

Meyerhoff Graduates Win NIH Funding

Ozell Sanders and Janell Payano Sosa

Ozell Sanders, a doctoral candidate in the Physical Rehabilitation Science Program at the University of Maryland, Baltimore - School of Medicine received an NIH R36  two-year Dissertation...

Posted: December 21, 2017, 1:41 PM

Meyerhoff Graduate September Monthly Meeting

Presenters: Nicole Snell (MMED) and Laine Hostelly (MMED)

The Meyerhoff Graduate Fellows Program September monthly meeting will be held on Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. on the UMB campus in the Hosick Lecture Hall, Bressler Building, 655 W....

Posted: September 12, 2017, 10:19 AM

Meyerhoff Graduate Fellow and Classmate Win National Contest

Camilo Vanegas, 3rd Year Graduate Student at UMB

Elizabeth Weingartner and Camilo Vanegas, third-year students in the School of Medicine’s Graduate Program in Life Sciences (GPILS), have been named winners in a Nanotechnology Startup Competition...

Posted: August 8, 2016, 12:25 PM

Former Meyerhoff Fellow Joins MedStar Harbor Hospital

Dr. Sampson K. Kyere, MD/PhD

Vascular and interventional radiologist Sampson K. Kyere Jr., MD, PhD, joins MedStar Harbor Hospital MedStar Harbor Hospital welcomes vascular and interventional radiologist Sampson K. Kyere Jr.,...

Posted: March 8, 2016, 7:05 PM

Meyerhoff Fellow Natasha Wilson - Chemical Engineering

Interviewed During Papal Visit

Meyerhoff Graduate Natasha Wilson was interviewed during Papal visit. See article. U.S. gets visit from pope who has captivated many with his style, substance Like many a...

Posted: March 8, 2016, 7:02 PM

3 First Author Publications!

Flaire Macazo received a first authored publication in JACS!

4th year Chemistry doctoral student and IMSD Meyerhoff Graduate Fellow, Flaire Macazo received a first-authored publication (1 of 3 first authored publications) accepted in JACS (The Journal of...

Posted: March 8, 2016, 6:57 PM