COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC campuses are closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.
Skip to Main Content

Current IMSD Meyerhoff Graduate Fellows (91)

Biological Sciences (UMBC – 6)

Estela Monge
Maraki Negesse
Cecelia Garcia
John Fenimore
Timothy Hufford
Devonique Brissett

Molecular Medicine (UMB – 10)

Tierra Johnson
Camilo Vanegas
Haikel Bogale
Jonelle Lee
Kevin Herold
Christian Kinney 
Abanoub Gad
Talia Guardia
Brittany Hazzard
Sarah Talamentez-Lyburn

Microbiology and Immunology (UMB -5)

Ashley Mitchell
Jackline Joy Lasola
Gillian Mbambo
Ellis Tibbs
Adrienne Kambouris

Neuroscience (UMB – 6)

Janell Payano Sosa
Jason Alipio
Lace Riggs
Soad Elziny
Antonio Figueiredo
Daniela Franco

Gerontology (UMBC & UMB – 3)

Roberto Millar
Eugenie Stephenson
Jennifer Kirk

Electrical Engineering (UMBC – 2)

Isaac Basaldua
Janerra Allen

Epidemiology and Human Genetics (UMB – 4)

Emily Stucke
Albert Zhou
Timileyin Adediran
Christina Stennett

Chemistry (UMBC – 8)

Nopondo Ndoh Esemoto
Erin Laurel Kennedy
Denise Nicole Williams
Chanda Lowrance
Patricia Boyd
Giraso “Monia” Kabandana
Mona Layegh
Kayry Segarra

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (UMBC – 2  & UMB – 5)

Canessa Swanson
Geraldine Ezeka
Anicca Harriot
McKayla Mickle
Lucia Rodriguez
Karndeep Singh
Saif Yasin

Chemical, Biochemical and Environmental Engineering (6)

Marilyn Allen
Zahra Ghassemi
Joel Tyson
Michael Fleming
Christopher Williams
Zach Sheffield

Mechanical Engineering (UMBC – 4)

Timothy Munuhe
Hector Medina
Nathanael Seay
Karla Negrete

Psychology (UMBC – 18)

Patricia Esparza
Rukiya Wideman
Shelter Bamu
Breanna Holloway
Rupsha Singh
Eduardo Alsina
Taylor Darden
Ana Maldonado
Jason Ashe
Peter MacIver
Munazza Abraham
Selima Jumarali
Nicole Telfer
Ana Katrina Aquino
Fran Alfonzo
Geoffrey Harrison
Jordan Lankford
Jabarey Wells

Pharmaceutical Science (UMB – 11)

Alecia Thomas
Ramon Martinez
Ebehiremen Ayewoh
Tyree Wilson
Dante’ Johnson
Jorge Marquez
Yulemni Morel
Brianna Scotland
Raquel Shortt
Elizabeth Robinson
Nicholas Montes

Computer Science (UMBC – 1)

Adegboyega Akinsiku


  • Meyerhoff Graduates Win NIH Funding

    Ozell Sanders and Janell Payano Sosa
    Ozell Sanders, a doctoral candidate in the Physical Rehabilitation Science Program at the University of Maryland, Baltimore - School of Medicine received an NIH R36  two-year Dissertation...
    Posted: December 21, 2017 1:41 PM
  • Meyerhoff Graduate September Monthly Meeting

    Presenters: Nicole Snell (MMED) and Laine Hostelly (MMED)
    The Meyerhoff Graduate Fellows Program September monthly meeting will be held on Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. on the UMB campus in the Hosick Lecture Hall, Bressler Building, 655 W....
    Posted: September 12, 2017 10:19 AM
  • Meyerhoff Graduate Fellow and Classmate Win National Contest

    Camilo Vanegas, 3rd Year Graduate Student at UMB
    Elizabeth Weingartner and Camilo Vanegas, third-year students in the School of Medicine’s Graduate Program in Life Sciences (GPILS), have been named winners in a Nanotechnology Startup Competition...
    Posted: August 8, 2016 12:25 PM
  • Former Meyerhoff Fellow Joins MedStar Harbor Hospital

    Dr. Sampson K. Kyere, MD/PhD
    Vascular and interventional radiologist Sampson K. Kyere Jr., MD, PhD, joins MedStar Harbor Hospital MedStar Harbor Hospital welcomes vascular and interventional radiologist Sampson K. Kyere Jr.,...
    Posted: March 8, 2016 7:05 PM
  • Meyerhoff Fellow Natasha Wilson - Chemical Engineering

    Interviewed During Papal Visit
    Meyerhoff Graduate Natasha Wilson was interviewed during Papal visit. See article. U.S. gets visit from pope who has captivated many with his style, substance Like many a...
    Posted: March 8, 2016 7:02 PM
  • 3 First Author Publications!

    Flaire Macazo received a first authored publication in JACS!
    4th year Chemistry doctoral student and IMSD Meyerhoff Graduate Fellow, Flaire Macazo received a first-authored publication (1 of 3 first authored publications) accepted in JACS (The Journal of...
    Posted: March 8, 2016 6:57 PM
  • Meyerhoff Graduate Fellows Program - October Monthly Meeting

    Presenters Janae Baptiste (CHEM) and Cassie Nelson (BIOL)
    The Meyerhoff Monthly meeting is this Friday, October 16, 2015 at 4:00 p.m.   The meeting will be held at UMBC in the Biological Science Building, Room 004 (BS004).   Parking on campus is free...
    Posted: October 12, 2015 10:54 AM
  • Hello PhD!

    A FREE Weekly Podcast for Science Trainees
    Dr. Joshua Hall from UNC Chapel Hill is a member of the Mid-Atlantic PREP and IMSD consortium has shared a FREE weekly podcast for science trainees called, Hello PhD.  The podcast explores the...
    Posted: September 2, 2015 12:16 PM
  • Meyerhoff Fellow Awarded UNCF Merck Science Fellowship!

    Bre-Onna DeLaine, Molecular Medicine (UMB)
    Bre-Onna DeLaine has been awarded the UNCF Merck Science Fellowship Award that will begin on September 1, 2015.  Congratulations Bre-Onna!
    Posted: May 19, 2015 1:41 PM
  • Dr. Dawn Ward Receives 1st Distinguished IMSD Alumni Award

    The Mid-Atlantic PREP & IMSD Research Symposium
    Dr. Dawn Ward earned her B.S. degree from Lincoln University in Pennsylvania and in 2003 entered the Chemistry PhD program at UMBC where she worked in the laboratory of Dr. Paul Smith.  Dr. Ward’s...
    Posted: February 10, 2015 5:42 PM